Deutsche Welle boosts The Bobs international online award

Logo The Bobs 2015 Enlarge image Logo of Deutsche Welle's Online-Award "The Bobs" in 2015 (© Deutsche Welle) Deutsche Welle (DW) launches its renowned international contest "The Bobs - Best of Online Activism" with a new approach. The focus is now on the "Freedom of Speech Award."

For the 11th time, Deutsche Welle is honoring exceptional online activists and projects from around the world. DW streamlined key points of The Bobs 2015. The most important change: DW will hand out the Freedom of Speech Award for the first time. It will honor a person or initiative that takes an exemplary stand for human rights and freedom of expression in the digital world.

Additionally, DW refined the contest's categories, the winners of which will be determined by an international jury, to "Social Change," "Privacy & Security" and "Arts & Media." All jury members are prominent online activists and digital media experts.

"We focused our international competition to a core issue for Deutsche Welle - the commitment to freedom of expression and freedom of the press," says DW Director General Peter Limbourg. "By concentrating on three jury categories it enhances the award's long-term impact beyond the global online community."

The Social Change category honors projects that effectively promote socially relevant issues, such as education, equality, economic development, health or climate protection.

In the category Privacy & Security, the focus is on services or websites that help people protect their data and privacy using innovative, user-friendly apps or awareness-raising projects. This category is also open to tools that help circumvent censorship.

The Arts & Media category is the place for projects that do an exceptional job of using digital communications to convey their own interpretation of socially relevant issues. The category is also open to projects that take an innovative approach to media and information, including data and citizen journalism.

The winner of the Freedom of Speech Award will be announced by DW on February 26. The award's recipient as well as the winners of the three jury categories will be honored at the Deutsche Welle Global Media Forum on June 23, 2015.

14-person jury from 14 countries

The contest takes place in 14 languages: Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Internet users around the world can make submissions to the contest until March 12, 2015. All the details are available at (#thebobs15).

New members of the 14-person jury are: Mauricio Santoro (Portuguese), Leila Nachawati (Arabic), Sanam Dolatshahi (Persian) and Alexander Morozow (Russian). They join returning jurors: Georgia Popplewell (English), Falk Steiner (German), Hu Yong (Chinese), Erkan Saka (Turkish), Renata Avila (Spanish), Florian Ngimbis (French), Oksana Romaniuk (Ukrainian), Shahidul Alam (Bengali), Alissa Wahid (Indonesian) und Rohini Lakshané (Hindi).

Online voting determines the People's Choice Awards

In addition to the Jury Awards, "The Bobs - Best of Online Activism" also hands out People's Choice honors in each of its 14 languages. People's Choice Award winners are determined by an online vote. Starting on April 9, Internet users will be able to cast ballots to choose the winners from among the five finalists put forward by the jury in each language.

Media partners for this year's competition are: Terra, La Nacion, IFEX, Mada Masr, Somewhere in…,, Global Voices Online, Hromadske, Gooya, Russian Journal (Русскийжурнал), MYNET, MEDYATAVA, China Digital Times and Waza.


Deutsche Welle - The Bobs

Five winners of The Bobs Award 2014

The Bobs: DW honors courageous defenders of free speech

Winners of the Online Award "The Bobs"

In a global television broadcast and in front of a live audience of 2,000 international guests from the fields of diplomacy, journalism and other segments of public life, DW Director Peter Limbourg honored imprisoned Saudi Arabian blogger Raif Badawi with the Freedom of Speech Award and encouraged participants of the Global Media Forum to demand "the release of online activists in custody around the world."

DW Award: "The Bobs" names its winners for 2015

The international jury representing 14 of the world's language regions

The international jury at "The Bobs - Best of Online Activism" has awarded its laurels for 2015. In addition to the Jury honors, Internet users spanning the globe voted for winners in the contest's 14 languages.

The nominees for the 11th annual The Bobs have been decided

The Bobs 2015

An international jury sorted through over 4,800 entries to put together a list of the top online activism projects and websites. Now it's up to Internet users around the world to vote for their favorites in each of the contest's 14 languages. The users have three weeks to chose the projects they find most impressive and inspiring.

Deutsche Welle: Freedom of Speech Award for Raif Badawi

Raif Badawi - Winner of the Freedom of Speech Awards

Imprisoned blogger Raif Badawi from Saudi Arabia is to receive Deutsche Welle's first Freedom of Speech Award. DW is awarding the prize as part of its international online competition The Bobs – Best of Online Activism.